AIA Northern Virginia
Lead Image
The Chapter House is temporarily virtual. All member services are available by emailing

Continuing Education
Continuing education is a requirement for AIA architect membership. It enables the architect to keep current, master new knowledge and skills, plan for the future, and responsibly meet the role society entrusts to a professional.

Continuing education is now required by the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as Maryland and the District of Columbia. AIA credits are accepted in all jurisdictions requiring continuing education. For more information about Virginia licensure, visit the DPOR Website.

CES Dashboard is AIA National's online continuing education system. Members can log in to access transcripts, find upcoming seminars, learn about self-reported activities and check state licensing requirements throughout the US and Canada.

CES Dashboard
(800) 242-3837, option 3

AIA Educational Requirements
All Architect and Int’l Associate members are required to complete 18 total Continuing Education Learning Units (CE LUs) per calendar year. Of these 18 hours, at least 12 hours must be in subjects designated as Health, Safety and Welfare (HSW). CE courses listed on AIAU and various other platforms that satisfy the Health, Safety and Welfare requirements will be indicated as HSW.

A member who exceeds the annual requirement in a given year may carry up to 18 LUs (including 12 hours of HSW) into the next year. Members' LU carryover credits allow only as many hours as needed to fulfill the annual requirement. A member who fails to meet the annual requirement will be given 9 months to earn the deficient LUs and meet the current annual requirements of 18 LUs. Members who do not complete their CE requirements are subject to an audit and risk losing their AIA status for non-compliance.

Emeritus members must complete one (1) learning unit annually.

Associate members may earn up to 20 hours in the Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®) per experience area by completing AIA-approved continuing education resources and programs that qualify for HSW. Self-reported continuing education is not eligible for AXP credit. One AIA HSW learning unit earns one AXP hour.